I tHiNk I lOvEd YoU tOo MuCh

 

You were priceless

my efforts to win you were relentless

In my eyes you were flawless

You could never make a mistake:

you were just perfect

You were to me, worth every test

I think I loved you too much

 

Your voice in my ears was like a melody

Every word was like a lyric from my favourite song

Your thoughts shared were like chords that filled my skin pores

It gave me so much ecstasy

I wanted nothing more than to hear you talk all day long

I think I loved you too much

 

You were the centre of my joy

People knew for sure

This one was not like the others; you were no toy

For you, I could give up the stars so bright

What would it hurt after all,

If the world lost a just little light?

I think I loved you too much

 

I loved you to the point where love was no longer a chore

It rather became my entire being’s core

I needed you more

Than you’d ever need me

That, began my fall

I think I loved you too much

textgram_1501673842 

Over exaggeration cost me

The adrenaline so high up in my being

Caused such a blindness

That I failed to see that this

Was too high a pedestal to place a person

No matter the reason

I think I loved you too much

 

I clearly said,

“Don’t start what you cannot finish”

“This mission will reach its completion” your dazzling response in words

I should have paid more attention

Maybe, I would have realized

I was just another of those ones

To help while away your time

I think I loved you too much

 

Maybe I did love you too much

People doubt there’s something as such

But I know you were a good catch

I just did not have that strong a latch

That’s why you ran off with that one

And I didn’t even have the strength for you to fight

I think I loved you too much

 

I admit I loved you too much

So much that no matter how now it hurts

I numbed myself to feel

But I’m human you see?

The ache, it won’t go away

It would probably last all my days

I just loved you too much

 

©2017 Naema

textgram_1501685443.png

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Alexander Aryee says:

    Waooo… nice piece. Keep it up dear

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naema says:

      Thank you Sir!

      Like

  2. Yaw Tekyi Enchill says:

    This piece is really loaded.
    Thumbs and toes up for you if there exists anything like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naema says:

      Toes up! I like that one… lol! Thank you Enchill!

      Like

Leave a Reply

